New look awards offer eight key categories and an enhanced digital entry mechanism

by Tia

As the Southern Africa Stainless Steel Association (Sassda) proudly celebrates its 60th Anniversary in 2024, it has also announced the highly anticipated return of the Sassda & Columbus Stainless Steel Awards supported by title sponsor Columbus Stainless and category sponsors EuroSteel, Macsteel and NDE. Centred around the theme, ‘Sustainability: A Legacy of Brilliance’ the awards will take place on 19th September 2024 and will honour the enduring strength and durability of stainless steel, while recognising the resilience of the local stainless steel industry in navigating the current challenges it faces.

Explaining the reason for the awards’ long hiatus, Sassda Executive Director Michel Basson explains; “ The last global storm the South African industry had to face came in the form of a pandemic that brought the world to its knees. This also brought a temporary halt to our tradition of the awards as a showcase event every second year.  “The world has undergone countless changes since our founding but through it all, Sassda has remained a pillar of support and innovation for the stainless steel industry, and we are therefore proud to host these sought after awards. They are a vital opportunity to reflect on the resilience of our members and underscore the critical role stainless steel plays in shaping a sustainable future.”

Basson adds that this year’s awards represent a fresh new take on an old classic given that the number of categories has been streamlined to eight and the digital entry mechanism has been made as user-friendly as possible. The award categories are:

Sustainability recognises a sustainable innovative new product or project featuring an impact on either energy use, environmental improvement, recycling, material use or
life-cycle costing.

Duplex Stainless Steel The use of this specific grade of stainless steel in an application which demonstrates innovation and life-cycle cost effectiveness. Entries will cover both projects and products.

Ferritic Stainless Steel in a product or project that demonstrates innovation, life-cycle cost effectiveness, substitution, and growth potential.

Austenitic Stainless Steel in a project or product with an application in this grade of material that shows innovation, life-cycle cost effectiveness, substitution, and growth potential.

Export Achievement recognition of significant growth in export sales through innovation, quality and effectiveness (volume, value or both)

Business Excellence will recognise businesses for building a sustainable, long-term, thriving business that has demonstrated innovative use of stainless steel in the design and development of products, to become a leader in the field of excellence.

Lifetime Achievement awards a person or persons that have made an outstanding contribution to Sassda and the stainless steel industry.

Overall Winner the most successful and outstanding winner from all the categories.

In terms of entry criteria, the awards are open to individuals and companies (locally and abroad) that participate in the design, production, conversion, distribution and use or specification of stainless steel. Entrants do not need to be a member of Sassda.

Entries for the awards close on 8th July 2024 and will be adjudicated by an independent panel of judges drawn from recognised professionals, representing all sectors of industry. The winners will be announced at a banquet dinner to be held on the 19th of September 2024 at The Indaba Hotel, Fourways, Johannesburg.

For more information go to www.sassda.co.za/sassda-Columbus-stainless-awards-2024 or email awards@sassda.co.za

You may also like

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!